The Chattooga County 4-H BB Team and their families traveled to Gordon County this past Saturday to compete at the Northwest District Area Qualifying SAFE BB Match! Not only did Chattooga County show up, but they showed out.

Chattooga County Team 1 placed 1st out of 16 teams with a score of 1801! Congrats- Brittonie Cordle, James Wester, Abby Ayers, Tanner Nutter, and Reagan Tallent!

Chattooga County Team 3 placed 4th with a score of 1690! Congrats- Penelope Jones, NaSiah McVay, Micheal Cordle, Dylan Adams, Autumn Williams, and Gavin Collier!

Chattooga County Team 2 placed 8th with a score of 1673! Congrats- Halle Lively, Tyleah Fonseca, Addison Anderson, Joshua Willingham, Quintin Patterson, and Abram Williams!

There were only 5 shooters that made a 100 on their SAFETY test out of 108, and 3 of those 5 are from Chattooga County! Big congrats to Abby, Reagan, and Tyleah!

Shooters are asked to shoot in 4 different positions at a distance of 5 meters. We would like to acknowledge the following shooters for their individual achievements—

Prone: Addison (4th), Abbie (6th), James (7th)

Standing: Brittonie (5th), Tanner (6th), Reagan (9th)

Sitting: Reagan (5th), Brittonie (6th)

Kneeling: James (5th), Brittonie (7th), Tyleah (8th)

Overall, Brittonie Cordle was 3rd out of 108 shooters with a score of 370!

Even with all of these achievements and accolades, the best part is that ALL 17 of our shooters are headed to State Competition on May 4th-5th at Rock Eagle 4-H Center in Eatonton, Georgia.

We are so proud of the incredible progress these 4-H’ers have made this year. A very special thank you goes out to our coaches and volunteers who spend hours of their free time each week working with these shooters to help make the best even better. If you would like to learn how you can help make a difference or contribute to the Chattooga County SAFE Shooting Sports Program, don’t hesitate to call the 4-H office at 706-857-0744.

Article by
Caleb Millican- Chattooga County Extension Educator and Angie Conner- 4-H Volunteer Leader