The Georgia High School Association released new region alignments for 2010 last Wednesday. According to the alignment, both Chattooga and Trion could face some new opponents in region play next year.


Subregion B in 7-AA now has three new teams, including North Murray and Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe, who both moved down from Class AAA, and Coahulla Creek, a new school in Whitfield County school opening in the fall of 2011. The rest of the subregion will be Calhoun, Chattooga, Dade County, Gordon Central and Sonoraville.


Trion will remain in Region 6-A, which will now be divided into subregions. Subregion A will have Darlington, Excel Christian, Gordon Lee, Morris Innovative and Trion. (GSD is also classified in that subregion but plays a non-region schedule). Region 6 Subregion B has Bowdon, Bremen, Mt. Paran Christian, Mt. Zion (Carroll), North Cobb Christian and Walker.