Two new Board of Education members were sworn in by Judge Jon Payne at Thursday night’s work session meeting. Ron Williams and Alma Lewis, who replaced  William ‘Fuzz’ Anderson and Dot Johnson, took the oath of office before official business began. Re-elected BOE member Eddie Massey was also sworn in with the two new members. The Board elected Eddie Massey as Chairman and Eddie Elsberry as Vice Chairman.

Superintendent Pullen presented a certificate recognizing the County Special Education department for their excellence in meeting state requirements regarding the education of students with disabilities. The state of Georgia mandates targets that must be met in testing and achievement for students with disabilities and the county Special Education teachers met those targets. Dr. Pullen stated that he would like to thank the county special education teachers for their hard work and dedication to the students.

The Board of Education’s regular meeting will be held Thursday, January 13 at 7pm at the Chattooga Education Center. The public is invited and encouraged to attend.