Two teams placed in Region 6-A for the 2012-2014 cycle were denied their appeals for lateral transfers by the GHSA Reclassification Committee in Thomaston on Monday while two more were approved.

Darlington was denied a move from Subregion A to Subregion B while Southwest Atlanta Christian’s request to move from Region 6 to Region 5 was also denied.

In Class AAA, Rockmart was denied a move from Region 4 to Region 5.

Mount Pisgah Christian and Mount Zion-Carroll had their requests approved and will be moving from Subregion A to Subregion B in the new Region 6-A.

Click here to see the results of reclassification appeals on the GHSA website.

With the rulings, Region 6, Subregion A will now include Darlington, Mount Paran Christian, North Cobb Christian, Southwest Atlanta Christian, and the Walker School, while Subregion B will include Christian Heritage, Excel Christian, Fellowship Christian, Georgia School for the Deaf, Gordon Lee, King’s Ridge Christian, Mount Pisgah Christian, Mount Zion-Carroll, St. Francis, and Trion.

If the new region is formally approved, it would leave six GHSA football-playing schools in Subregion A and eight in Subregion B, if all teams elect to play region schedules.

North Cobb Christian and St. Francis have opted to play non-region schedules in football the past few seasons. It has been rumored that NCCS will play a region schedule next year, but there is no word yet on any decision by St. Francis.

Read more: