Georgia hunters can get a look at the new hunting regulations for 2009-2010 in July. The online version of the 2009–2010 Hunting Seasons & Regulations Guide (a.k.a. Popular Guide) will be available on-line in July 2009 and in hard copy format at DNR offices and license agents in August 2009. When viewing the online version: Adobe Acrobat Reader is required. The file size is large and can be downloaded to your system.

Here are the dates for deer season this year:

Archery, Either Sex: September 12 – October 9
Extended Archery, Either Sex:

January 2-31
Only for Clayton, Cobb,
Dekalb, Forsyth, Fulton,
Gwinnett & Rockdale counties

Primitive Weapons, Either Sex: October 10-16
Northern Zone*:
Southern Zone:
October 17 – January 1
October 17 – January 15

12 per season, Statewide

No more than 10 may be antlerless
and no more than 2 may be antlered.
One (1) of the 2 antlered deer must
have at least 4 points, one inch or
longer, on one side of the antlers.

Antler Restricted Counties:

In Hancock, Harris, Meriwether,
Montgomery, Randolph, Talbot,
and Troup counties, only antlered
bucks with at least 4 points on either
side are legal

In Dooly and Macon counties, only
antlered bucks with a minimum
15-inch outside spread are legal