President Obama’s major disaster declaration on Sept. 24 provides for Individual Assistance in 17 designated counties: Bartow, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fulton, Gwinnett, Heard, Newton, Paulding, Rockdale, Stephens and Walker.

Local governments, state agencies and certain eligible private nonprofit organizations in 21 counties – Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Cobb, Crawford, Dawson, DeKalb, Dooly, Douglas, Fulton, Gwinnett, Heard, Houston, Newton, Paulding, Peach, Rockdale, Stephens, Taylor and Walker – may apply for Public Assistance, a cost-share program which can reimburse eligible costs of disaster-related emergency services, debris removal and repair and replacement of public facilities.

All counties within Georgia are eligible to apply for assistance under FEMA’s Hazard Mitigation Program.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.