Georgia Governor Sonny Perdue has included Chattooga County in the Federal Disaster Declaration made earlier this week. This means that those affected by flooding that began September 18 will be aided by the Federal Government.

 ATLANTA – The State of Georgia received a Federal Disaster Declaration
> amendment today for Carroll, Stephens and Chattooga counties. These
> counties are now eligible for disaster assistance and were included in
> the original application submitted by Governor Sonny Perdue requesting
> aid following severe flooding that began on September 18 and is
> continuing in certain isolated areas.
> "The devastation left by the recent flooding in Georgia produced
> unimaginable destruction to homes, businesses and infrastructure," said
> Governor Perdue. "We are delighted that federal assistance is now
> available to help more Georgians rebuild their lives and these great
> communities."
> The total number of counties designated under this disaster declaration
> now stands at seven. The list now includes: Carroll, Chattooga, Cobb,
> Cherokee, Douglas, Paulding and Stephens counties.
> A Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) operated by the State of Georgia and
> the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) opened today in Cobb
> County for those affected earlier this week by severe storms and
> flooding. The DRC is located at The Threadmill, 5000 Austell/Powder
> Springs Road, Suite 120 in Austell, and is open from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
> seven days a week until further notice. People who suffered losses can
> get person-to-person assistance at the centers from specialists skilled
> in many disaster-related subjects.
> Disaster officials ask that before visiting the centers, people should
> first apply for assistance by registering online at
> <> or by
> calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585. The toll-free numbers
> are staffed seven days a week, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Help in all languages
> is available.
> Individual assistance can include grants to help pay for temporary
> housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses.
> Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will
> be available to cover residential and business losses not fully
> compensated by insurance.
> Joint federal- state-local preliminary damage inspections are underway
> in all remaining counties. Additional county declarations of eligibility
> for Individual Assistance could be announced in the next few days.
> The federal declaration also means that affected counties can apply to
> be part of a Hazard Mitigation Grant program, which provides assistance
> to state and local governments and certain private nonprofit
> organizations for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to
> life and property from natural hazards.
> GEMA is the lead state agency for coordination of emergency and disaster
> response activities. For more information on GEMA, visit
> <> .
> To learn how to prepare for disaster, visit