Floyd Medical Center’s Emergency Medical Services has been named the Northwest Georgia Region 1 EMS of the Year for the second consecutive year.

The award was presented at the annual Region 1 EMS awards banquet held in Cartersville. This is the first time in the award’s history that an EMS department has received the honor consecutively.

Floyd EMS was chosen from among the approximately 31 emergency medical and first responder services that serve the 16-county Region 1 area in Northwest Georgia.

The award is presented each year to the currently licensed Region 1 Emergency Medical Service that exemplifies outstanding professionalism and service to the community.

In addition, two paramedics who have served with Floyd EMS were recognized.

Lt. Darren Vandegriff, Floyd EMS paramedic, received the Georgia Region 1 Paramedic of the Year award. Retired Floyd paramedic Glenn Downes received the Dr. Virginia Hamilton Special Achievement Award for exceptional service to the profession throughout Northwest Georgia.

Floyd EMS will now represent Region 1 in the Georgia EMS of the Year awards competition.

Press Release