The Georgia High School Association has announced its new region alignments for the 2010 -2011 school year.

Chattooga County will be playing in the 7AA region and will be facing teams from Dade County to Cherokee County, Georgia – a nearly 100 mile spread.  The region will likely be divided into sub regions that will look like this:

Adairsville, Armuchee, River Ridge (Cherokee Co., GA.) Coosa, Model, Pepperell and Rockmart


Calhoun, Chattooga, Coahulla Creek, Dade County, Gordon Central, Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe, North Murray and Sonoraville.

Region 6A will look like this: Subregion A  – Darlington, Excel Christian, Ga. School – Deaf , Gordon Lee, Morris Innovative and Trion. Subregion B – Bowdon. Bremen, Mt. Paran Christian,
Mt. Zion (Carroll), N. Cobb Christian and Walker.

It is a noticeable change that, for the first time, Region 6-A will be sub-divided, though Gordon Lee and Trion will remain together in the "A" sub-region.