Since 2002 Chattooga County Schools have been required to implement plans under the No Child Left Behind Act to increase educational opportunities for all students.

Out of six schools in Chattooga County three have met AYP and three have not.  Leroy Massey Elementary School missed making AYP for the second consecutive year.   Both Chattooga High School and Summerville Middle School fell short of making AYP for the third year in a row.

Menlo School along with Lyerly and Summerville Elementary School all were successful in making AYP.

Under the No Child Left Behind Act students may transfer from a school that does not make AYP to another school within in the district.  Since Chattooga County has only one high school in the district, that option is not available for students grades 9-12.