The Northwest Georgia Joint Development Authority is currently comprised of Chattooga, Walker and Dade Counties; now Catoosa County is asking to join the economic authority that seeks to bring job development and industry to our area.

Yesterday Walker County Commissioner Bebe Heiskle signed a resolution that will recognize Catoosa County as a member of the Authority.  The only step now is for Dade County’s Board of Commissioners and Chattooga County’s Sole Commissioner to do recognize the request for membership by Catoosa County.

Heiskle said yesterday  “I’ve always thought it was a good idea for Catoosa to be a part of our regional authority. I think the decision will likely benefit all four counties in our drive to bring a Volkswagen supplier into our area.”

Catoosa County has already been participating with the other three counties in economic development and the recognition by the other three counties is all that is left to formalize the arrangement.