The Coosa Valley Regional Development Center has passed a resolution supporting a proposed merger with the North Georgia Regional Development Center.  The move is seen as an important step for both groups. 

Chattooga County along with Walker, Floyd, Bartow, Catoosa and Dade Counties belongs to the Coosa Valley Regional Development Center.  The merger would create a larger development commission that could address issues in Northwest Georgia including water resources, economic development and tourism.

The North Georgia Regional Development Center is expected to take up the issue at their upcoming May 22 meeting.