Qualifying for the Ciyt of Summerville municipal elections was held Monday August 31st at 9 am until Firday September 4th at 4:30 PM.

For the position of mayor their were two candidates that qualified: Incumbent Mayor Joe R. Norton and also Melvin Lovett Foster, Sr.

For Council Seat number one only one candidate qualified: Harry Harvey.

For Council Seat number two – two candidates qualified: Incumbent Betty K. Bush and Kevin Gilleland.