The Small Business Administration told AM 1180 Chattooga County Radio on Friday that: 

On Wednesday DeKalb and Marshall Counties in Alabama were declared a federal disaster area due to the tornadoes in late April that struck Northeast Alabama.  DeKalb and Marshall county residents are eligible to apply for disaster loans of up to $200,000 for these homeowners to repair or replace disaster damaged or destroyed real estate.  Homeowners and renters in DeKalb and Marshall counties are eligible to apply for loans of up to $40,000 to replace or repair disaster damaged personal property.  Businesses and non-profit organizations of any size may borrow up to $2 Million for physical damages.   These non-profit organizations and small businesses are eligible to apply for economic injury loans.

Because Chattooga County borders DeKalb County, residents of Chattooga County will be eligible  to apply for SBA economic injury  disaster loans only.  Also residents in Walker and Dade Counties in Georgia are eligible to apply for SBA economic injury  disaster loans only.

To apply for loans Chattooga County residents may call the SBA at 1-800-659-2955 or visit a Disaster Recovery Center.