Sample Image

The multi-jurisdictional drug task force in Northwest Georgia is without a permanent commander after the board of directors decided that they wanted a change in leadership.

Dewayne Brown had been serving at the Commander of the Lookout Mountain Judicial Circuit Drug Task Force, but has now resigned from that position after the multi-agency task force said that they weren’t happy with some of the decisions that were being made for the drug task force.

The Drug Task Force is made up of Chattooga, Walker and Dade Counties along with The Town of Trion Police Department and the City of LaFayette Police Department.  Each of the departments have representatives that sit on the board of directors for the drug task force.

Chattooga County’s Caine Railey is still serving as deputy commander of the task force and Trion Police Chief David Gilliland is acting in an unpaid position as “interim overseer.”

Chattooga County Sheriff Mark Schrader, who serves on the board of directors for the task force,  told WZQZ News that there were no improprieties at the Drug Task Force, but that board members wanted to see a change in direction.

Brown has returned to the Walker County Sheriff’s Office where he started working in 1998.