The Chattooga County Republican Party will be participating in the District Convention May 16 and 17 at the Columbus Civic Center in Columbus, Georgia, according to Chattooga County Party Republican Party Chairman Brad Hayes, Chattooga County ahs a total of six delegates that will be representing the county at the District Convention.  Hayes also told Chattooga Radio News that at this time no candidates have come forward to run for political office on the Republican ticket in the upcoming primary elections.  Anyone that might be interested in running as a Republican can contact Mr. Hayes at or can e mail him at  Qualifying for local offices will begin the end of this month. 

Currently there are 4 announced candidates for County Commissioner: Incumbent Mike Dawson, Jason Winters, Blake Jones and Joe Reed.  In the Sheriffs race three Democrats have announced their intentions to run: Incumbent Ralph Kellett, John Everett, Smitty Smith.  For Tax Commissioner two Democratic Candidates are planning to qualify: Incumbent Kathy Vanpelt Brown and Lamar Canada.  Qualifying will begin for local office April 28th.