Members of the Walker County Sheriff’s Department, the Catoosa County Sheriff’s Department, Georgia State Patrol Post 41, Fort Oglethorpe Police Department, Rossville Police Department, Lookout Mountain Drug Task Force, GBI, FBI, Georgia Probation and Georgia Parole Department, and Lookout Mountain Police Department all gathered earlier this week as the Lookout Mtn. Drug Task Force was honored as "Officer of the Year" in Walker County.

Normally the honor is given to one officer, but this year the award went to the entire LMDTF.  Chattooga County is no longer part of the Lookout Mountain Drug Task Force.  Sheriff John Everett made the decision to pull the county out of the LMDTF at the beginning of the year.  Sheriff Everett has formed a Chattooga County Drug Task Force.  Everett told AM 1180 Chattooga County Radio earlier this year that he will still be cooperating with the LMDTF, but that he felt the decision to pull Chattooga County out of the LMDTF would lead to more drug busts and more drug seisures for Chattooga County.