The January meeting of the 15-county Northwest Georgia Regional Commission will be held at 10 a.m. Thursday at the Rome Civic Center on Jackson Hill.

The organization varies its meeting locations among member-counties, which are Floyd, Gordon, Dade. Walker, Catoosa, Chattooga, Polk, Bartow, Paulding, Haralson, Whitfield, Murray, Gilmer, Pickens and Fannin.

This will be the first gathering in Rome since a state-mandated merger between the 10 counties of the Rome-based Coosa Valley Regional Development Center and the five counties of the North Georgia Regional Development Center in Dalton.