Georgia Governor Brian Kemp has reappointed Chattooga County Commissioner Jason Winters to the state’s Soil and Water Conservation Commission.

The Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission was formed to protect, conserve and improve the soil and water resources of the State of Georgia.  The Commission’s goal is to make Georgia a better place for its citizens through the wise use and protection of basic soil and water resources and to achieve practical water quality goals.

There are 40 Soil and Water Conservation Districts in the state.  Each county has at least two supervisor representatives on the District Board of Supervisors.

The Commission was started by Governor Nathan Deal with five supervisors from different regions of the state.

The Commissioner members include Commissioner Winters, Kerry Van Moore, Bob Martin, Edwin Nix and Vikkie Townsend Consiglio.